HomeIndustriesDHS launches AI safety board, but big open source names missing

DHS launches AI safety board, but big open source names missing

US Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas announced that DHS has established an Artificial Intelligence Security Committee to advertise the secure use of AI in critical situations US Infrastructure.

Mayorkas formed the board following the instructions of President Biden's Executive Order (EO) “Secure and Trustworthy Development and Use of Artificial Intelligence,” signed in October last 12 months.

The board is tasked with developing recommendations on how critical infrastructure stakeholders, comparable to pipeline and power grid operators, in addition to transportation and web service providers, responsibly use AI technologies.

“Artificial intelligence is a transformative technology that may advance our national interests in unprecedented ways. At the identical time, it poses real risks – risks that we will mitigate through adoption of best practices and other thoughtful, concrete actions,” said Secretary Mayorkas.

DHS says the board will help it “stay ahead of evolving threats from hostile nation-state actors.”

In its 2024 threat assessment, DHS warned that nation-states comparable to China, Russia and Iran could use AI-powered tools to focus on attacks US economic security and demanding infrastructure.

The report states that these technologies “have the potential to enable larger, faster, more efficient and more evasive cyberattacks – against targets comparable to pipelines, railroads and others.” US critical infrastructure.”

The recent AI Security Board is designed to assist DHS stay one step ahead of those evolving threats.

Who is on board?

The list of people that sit on the 22-member board reads like a who's who of Big Tech, however the missing names offer a possible insight into how it really works US The government is against open source AI.

Board members include CEOs like Sam Altman (OpenAI), Satya Nadella (Microsoft), Sundar Pichai (alphabet) and Dario Amodei (Anthropocene). The models released by these firms are all proprietary or closed models.

Mark Zuckerberg and Elon Musk are surprising omissions. Both men represent firms committed to making sure that AI models are “open source.”

Mayorkas told reporters he made a conscious decision not to incorporate “social media firms” on the board. Was his decision influenced by their platforms or their open source AI strategy?

The debate concerning the risks related to open source models continues. Companies just like the satirically named one OpenAI have been accused of stoking AI fear to take care of their hegemony by keeping their models closed.

Meta, xAI and even French AI startup mistral have released their LLMs as open weight models.

The absence of open source representatives and the presence of several effective altruists suggest that AI doomsayers will proceed at this week's first board meeting.

Here is the total list of board members:

  • Sam AltmanCEO, OpenAI;
  • Dario Amodei, CEO and co-founder, Anthropocene;
  • Ed Bastian, CEO, Delta Air Lines;
  • Rumman Chowdhury, Ph.D., CEO, Human Intelligence;
  • Alexandra Reeve Givens, President and CEO, Center for Democracy and Technology
  • Bruce Harrell, Mayor of Seattle, Washington; Chairman, United States Conference of Mayors Technology and Innovation Committee;
  • Damon Hewitt, president and CEO of the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law;
  • Vicki Hollub, president and CEO, Occidental Petroleum;
  • Jensen Huang, President and CEO, NVIDIA;
  • Arvind Krishna, Chairman and CEO, IBM;
  • Fei-Fei Li, Ph.D., co-director, Stanford Human-centered Artificial Intelligence Institute;
  • Maryland Governor Wes Moore;
  • Satya Nadella, Chairman and CEO, Microsoft;
  • Shantanu Narayen, Chairman and CEO, Adobe;
  • Sundar Pichai, CEO, alphabet;
  • Arati Prabhakar, Ph.D., assistant to the president for science and technology; Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy;
  • Chuck Robbins, Chairman and CEO, Cisco; Chairman, Business Roundtable;
  • Adam Selipsky, CEO, Amazon Internet services;
  • Dr. Lisa Su, Chairman and CEO, Advanced Micro Devices (AMD);
  • Nicol Turner Lee, Ph.D., senior fellow and director of the Center for Technology Innovation, Brookings Institution;
  • Kathy Warden, chair, CEO and president, Northrop Grumman; And
  • Maya Wiley, President and CEO, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read