HomePolicyUK Government unveils AI Security Summit 'Bletchley Declaration'

UK Government unveils AI Security Summit 'Bletchley Declaration'

At the AI ​​Safety Summit, nations from around the globe declared their commitment to the secure and responsible development, deployment and use of AI.

The Bletchley Declarationas its official title is, was signed by 28 participating countries and the EU.

The statement emphasizes the necessity for AI systems to be “human-centered, trustworthy and responsible,” and recognizes the critical role of AI in improving “human well-being, peace and prosperity.”

Participating countries said they wanted to make use of AI for “inclusive economic growth, sustainable development, innovation, protecting human rights and promoting public trust.”

As AI technologies permeate various areas of each day life, including health, education, transportation and justice, the statement highlights the will to regulate AI and channel it for collective profit.

Of course, it is basically symbolic and doesn’t show any particular path to amicable settlement.

However, the statement specifically highlights the safety risks posed by advanced AI models, also known as “foundational models,” and calls for proactive measures to mitigate potential harm.

The statement encourages countries to adopt “an innovation-friendly and proportionate governance and regulatory approach,” bearing in mind the advantages and risks related to AI.

The declaration also calls for shared responsibility amongst all actors, including nations, businesses, civil society and academia, in ensuring AI safety. It emphasizes the necessity for international cooperation and the adoption of policies to bridge the digital divide between more and fewer technologically advanced countries.

When addressing AI risks, the Declaration sets a transparent agenda focused on identifying concerns, constructing a scientific and evidence-based understanding of the risks, and developing appropriate risk-based policies across countries.

In addition, it guarantees to support an internationally inclusive network of scientific research on AI security on the border, with the aim of providing the perfect available science for policymaking.

Participating countries expressed their determination to take care of the worldwide dialogue on AI, take part in international forums and proceed research on AI security within the border area.

The countries which have signed the declaration are:

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • European Union
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Netherlands
  • Nigeria
  • The Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Türkiye
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America

Leaders akin to Kamala Harris and Rishi Sunak, amongst others, gave speeches on the primary day of the summit.

Read more about a very powerful points from day one here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read